2016 BRC Hat Rules
Please Note: These are provisional until the rule book is published for 2016.
Protective Headwear
‘Protective Headwear’ must be worn at all times by anyone, whether or not a Competitor, riding
anywhere at any BRC event. Harnesses must be correctly adjusted and fastened at all times. At all BRC
Championships and Qualifiers ‘Protective Headwear’ must have been checked by an official to make sure
that it is labelled with one of the accepted standards and then marked with a visible BRC ORANGE hat tag.
Failure to do so will incur elimination. Due to a change in the accepted standards for this year, BRC BLUE
hat tags will no longer be accepted. ‘Protective Headwear’ constitutes a hat which meets one of the
following standards:
British: PAS 015: 1998 or 2011 provided they are BSI Kitemarked or VG1 01.040: 2014-12 provided they are BSI Kitemarked
European: VG1 01.040: 2014-12 provided they are BSI Kitemarked
American: ASTM F1163: 2004a or 04a onwards provided they are SEI marked or SNELL E2001
Australian and New Zealand AS/NZS 3838: 2006 onwards provided they are SAI global marked

IMPORTANT CHANGE FOR THE CROSS COUNTRY PHASE: Only a “Jockey Skull” complying to the
above standards may be worn for any XC phase. This must not have a peak, any peak type extensions
or noticeable protuberances above the eyes or to the front and should have an even round or elliptical
shape with a smooth or slightly abrasive surface. A removable hat cover with a light flexible peak may
be used if required.
The use of head cams are strictly prohibited at any BRC affilited competition. This includes use on the
head, chest, bridle or any other part of the horse or rider.
Please Note: Due to a change by the European Commission regarding EN1384 and BSEN1384 no longer
being an accepted standard, all hats which only meet the standard EN1384 or BSEN1384, and do not
comply with another standard from the above list, WILL NOT be accepted and therefore will not be
permitted for any BRC competition. Hats which bear EN1384 or BSEN1384 along with another
standard from the above list, will be tagged. For example, BSEN1384 & PAS015 (1998 or 2011) along
with the Kitemark, would be acceptable, but not BSEN1384 on its own.
Hard hats must carry the quality assurance stamp of Kitemark, SEI or SAI. It is emphasised that hats
bearing a quality assurance stamp are batch tested and therefore of a constant standard. Skullcap hats
must be worn with an appropriate colour silk for that discipline (see Appendix 4). For Quadrille
competitions, hats of the above standard are mandatory. Competitors are strongly advised to check their
hats regularly and to replace them if damaged or following a fall. It is recommended that hats are replaced
every 3 to 5 years depending on usage.